[IAU logo]

[URSI logo]

[Karl Jansky at his antenna]
Jansky and his antenna. NRAO/AUI image

[Reber's Wheaton antenna]
Reber's Wheaton antenna. NRAO/AUI image

[Dover Heights]
Dover Heights. Photo supplied by Wayne Orchiston

[4C telescope]
4C telescope. NRAO/AUI image

[Ewen and horn antenna]
Ewen and the horn antenna, Harvard, 1951. Photo supplied by Ewen

[Dwingeloo, 1956]
Dwingeloo, 1956. ASTRON image

[Jocelyn Bell Burnell and Cambridge antenna used in pulsar discovery]
Jocelyn Bell Burnell and Cambridge antenna used in pulsar discovery. Bell Burnell image

[Lovell Telescope at Jodrell Bank]
Lovell Telescope at Jodrell Bank. Image © Anthony Holloway

[Wilson, Penzias, and Bell Labs horn antenna]
Wilson, Penzias, and Bell Labs horn antenna. Bell Labs image

[6-m Millimeter Radio Telescope in Mitaka, Japan]
6-m Mm Telescope in Mitaka, Japan. NAOJ image

Bernard Mills
Bernard Y. Mills (Photo courtesy of Chrys Mills)

Bernard Y. Mills

Article contributed by Kenneth I. Kellermann

The 2006 Grote Reber Gold Medal will be awarded to Professor B. Y. Mills, one of the early pioneers of radio astronomy. Mills is being honored for his innovative contributions to the development of radio telescopes and for his pioneering investigations of the radio sky which led to the first estimates of the radio galaxy luminosity function and helped to define their spatial distribution. The medal will be presented at a ceremony on August 17, during the IAU General Assembly in Prague.

The Reber Medal was established by the Trustees of the Grote Reber Foundation to honor the achievements of Grote Reber and is administered by the Queen Victoria Museum in Launceston, Tasmania in cooperation with NRAO, the University of Tasmania, and the CSIRO Australia Telescope National Facility.

Modified on Tuesday, 19-Jul-2011 14:27:24 EDT by Ellen Bouton, Archivist (Questions or feedback)